1977: QUINCY Comic Book Part One

QUINCY was a comic strip by Ted Shearer. The King Features strip, which ran from 1970 to 1986, was in the tradition of SKIPPY and LITTLE ORPHAN ANNIE - a scrappy kid who is pushing to better himself; sometimes falling on his face, but always philosophically optimistic. QUINCY chronicled a group of multi-cultural kids in a New York City neighborhood. Shearer was a cartoonist I admire, and I've previously showcased QUINCY (part one, part two). He's a cartoonist that deserves to be remembered.

This giveaway comic book (there is no cover price) is numbered "R-05" and is copyright King Features 1977. I bought it last week and it was advertised as a "rare King Comics' test market comic book" that was never circulated.

In the indicia, on page 3, you can see that this was part of the "Supplementary Reading Program developed and editor by Richard Guttenberg, Dr. Anne Mueser and Sherman H. Saiger." So, it may have been distributed as art of a school program. There are a couple of QUINCY comic books, and a TIM TYLER'S LUCK book in the series, which all seemed to feature King Features properties. Each comic also has a featured co-star, in their own, separate dtory. With the QUINCY books, you have HENRY and Hamlet (!), HAGAR's son. TIM TYLER's LUCK gives us a FELIX THE CAT back up. All of the art is uncredited.

The stories appear to be cobbled together from Shearer's QUINCY dailies.

I think that the "Ms. Annie" and the "Mr. G." in the All-Star Cast are in fact two of the Supplementary Reading Program editors, Dr. Anne Mueser and Richard Guttenberg.

Next time: part two, in which co-star HENRY is re-imagined -- and I don't mean in a good way.

Edit: part two is here.

No comments:

Post a Comment